How our levels work

How our levels work

You might have seen that our adult courses are split into 5 levels:

  1. Beginner (A1)
  2. Intermediate (A2)
  3. Independent (B1)
  4. Advanced (B2)
  5. Expert (C1)

These levels (A1, A2, B1. B2, C1) come from a standard called the
 CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference)

Which level should you enrol in?

If you are a complete beginner in French, it is easy, your level is Beginner 1.

If you studied French a little while ago, book a level assessment to know which class is the most suitable for you. 

New levels

If you have recently studied French with us, you might have noticed that our levels have slightly changed in 2022 (for the best!). Each level now matches the Cosmopolite textbook. For example: All beginners (from Beginner 1 to Beginner 5) will use Cosmopolite 1, all intermediates (from Intermediate 1 to Intermediate 2) will use Cosmopolite 2, etc.

Don’t worry, we made sure that there is no duplication between your last completed level and the next one, You will continue to progress through your French language journey at the same carefully managed pace as previously.

Please check the table below to find out which level to enrol next.

Please note: this is
not the equivalence between previous and new levels. This table is to help you to enrol in the next level.

Become a member

Become a member of Alliance Française de Melbourne for exclusive offers and discounts.