The South of France in summer: sunny vacations and lively ferias

En français | In English
Every summer in France, thousands of tourists rush to the South to enjoy the beaches of the Côte d’Azur, but also the Provençal landscapes as well as the ferias, a tradition from the Basque Country! In Europe, ferias are local events, happening in places like the South of France, Portugal and, of course, Spain. For many towns like Bayonne, Dax or Mont-de-Marsan, these ferias represent the year’s biggest event. If like many Australians you plan on spending your winter in France, these towns turn out to be must-see locations at this time of the year.


The feria: a tradition

What exactly is a feria? It’s a bullfighting festival characterized by a series of corridas (bullfighting events). Depending on the town where the event held, the bulls are released in the streets or in arenas. During the ferias, mobile bands called bandas play music until the end of the night and alcohol flows like water. The atmosphere is really one of partying. In the south-west, the word festayre (which comes from the Gascon word “hestaire”) designates the people partying during the ferias, and there’s more of them every year.

Ferias are these days commonly associated with bullfighting events, however the word “feria” once referred to agricultural events, as it in fact means “fair” (as in “agricultural fair”) in Spanish. Bullfighting ferias and fairs started blending as soon as the end of the 19th century in France as well as in Spain. These fairs’ traditional colours are red and white, two colours the locals wear proudly, turning the whole thing evermore picturesque. In the end, you only need to add some white to get the French flag!


Bayonne, Dax and Mont-de-Marsan

 

A famous song called “Les Pèlerins de Navarre” (“The Pilgrims of Navarre”) translates as such:
“I will go from Pampelune to Bayonne
I will go from Dax to Mont de Marsan
I will take on the biggest journey
A festayre ever travelled”

The feria of Bayonne is the biggest in France. As such, Bayonne’s festivities gather around 1.5 million people every summer. This year, they will take place from the 27th to the 31th of July. During the opening ceremony, the keys to the city will be delivered to the famous King Léon, the mascot of every feria. After that, it’s 5 days of non-stop partying and bullfighting events in the streets of the city.

The “feria” of Dax, often designated as “fêtes de Dax” (“celebrations of Dax”), is probably one of the most lively in France. This year, it will take place from the 11th to the 15th of August in the arenas as well as in the city centre of this thermal town that’s awaiting around 700 000 visitors! A myriad of different shows and bandas parades are organised all around town, and the bars flood the streets.

In Mont-de-Marsan, the feria is often called “fêtes de la Madeleine” (“celebrations of Madeleine”) in honor of Saint Madeleine, the town’s patron saint. This year, they will take place from the 20th to the 24th of July and will feature, as expected, bullfighting events in the town’s arenas. Every summer, about 400 000 people explore the streets of Mont-de-Marsan.

If you are lucky enough to visit the South of France this year, we wish you a happy time during the ferias, and a lovely summer! Take the opportunity to taste some of the Basque specialties: the piperade, the Basque chicken, Bayonne’s famous ham, the Ossau-iraty, chili from Espelette, and plenty of other wonders!

Adele Bouet for l’Alliance Française de Melbourne


You may also like...

Allen Hicks: Matter & Light

Allen Hicks: Matter & Light

31 October to 22 November
An exhibition presented by the Clark Art Projects

Jazzy Jeudi - Julien Wilson

Jazzy Jeudi - Julien Wilson

Thu 22 November
Tenor saxophonist Julien Wilson performs music composed by and associated with the great New Orleans multi-instrumentalist and composer, Sidney Bechet.

Mémoires Aborigènes: In Conversation with Fiona Clarke

Mémoires Aborigènes: In Conversation with Fiona Clarke

Sat 24 November
Film screening & discussion

Nadja-Leona

Nadja-Leona

28 Nov - 1 Dec
An activated installation and bilingual performance by Jude Walton presented at the Alliance Française.
Five performances | Bookings essential
 

Vin & Fromage

Vin & Fromage

Each term on Tuesday, from 6.30pm to 8.00pm
(except School & Public Holidays)


Thanks for sharing! / Merci pour le partage!

Instagram

St Kilda branch:
51 Grey Street, ST KILDA
VICTORIA 3182 AUSTRALIA
Tel : 03 9525 3463
E-mail: info@afmelbourne.com.au

St Kilda branch opening hours:
Mon - Fri: 9am to 7pm
Sat: 9am to 6pm

City branch:
Level 13, 55 Swanston St, Melbourne
VIC, Australia, 3000
Tel : 03 9525 3463
E-mail: info@afmelbourne.com.au

City branch opening hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am to 1pm & 2pm to 6.30pm
Fri - Sat: 9am to 12pm & 1pm to 6pm

Le Sud de la France en été : vacances ensoleillées et ferias animées

En français | In English
En France, tous les étés, des milliers de touristes se ruent vers le Sud de la France pour profiter des plages de la côte d’Azur, des paysages de Provence, mais aussi des ferias du Pays Basque ! En Europe, le phénomène des ferias est plutôt localisé, du sud de la France au Portugal en passant bien sûr par l’Espagne. C’est l’évènement de l’année pour de nombreuses communes dont Bayonne, Dax, ou encore Mont-de-Marsan. Si comme beaucoup d’Australiens vous décidez de passer l’hiver du côté de la France, ces villes se révèlent être des destinations incontournables à cette époque de l’année.


La tradition des ferias

Qu’est-ce qu’une feria au juste ? Il s’agit d’une fête taurine caractérisée par une suite de corridas (course de taureaux). Selon les villes où elles se déroulent, les lâchers de taureaux ont lieu dans les rues ou dans des arènes. Lors des ferias, des bandas (fanfare ambulatoire) jouent de la musique jusqu’au bout de la nuit et l’alcool y coule à flot. L’ambiance est véritablement à la fête.
Dans le sud-ouest, le mot festayre (du gascon hestaire) qualifie les fêtards des ferias, toujours plus nombreux chaque année.

Une feria est aujourd’hui indissociable des spectacles taurins, cependant le mot « feria », qui désignait à l'origine une manifestation agricole, signifie « foire » en espagnol. Feria taurine et foire se sont mêlées dès la fin du XIXe siècle en France comme en Espagne. Les couleurs traditionnelles de ces foires sont le rouge et le blanc, deux couleurs que les habitants revêtissent fièrement, rendant l’événement d’autant plus pittoresque. Finalement il ne manque plus que le bleu pour former le drapeau tricolore français !


Bayonne, Dax et Mont-de-Marsan

 

Comme la chanson des Pèlerins de Navarre le dit si bien :

« J'irai de Pampelune jusqu'à Bayonne
J'irai de Dax jusqu'à Mont de Marsan
Je ferai le plus grand pèlerinage
Des festayres de tous les temps »

La feria de Bayonne est la plus grande feria de France. Les Fêtes de Bayonne rassemblent près d’1,5 million de personnes chaque été. Cette année, elles auront lieu du 27 au 31 juillet. Le fameux roi Léon, la mascotte des ferias, recevra les clés de la ville en guise de cérémonie d’ouverture. S’ensuivront 5 jours de fêtes non-stop où les corridas se succèderont dans les rues de la ville.

La feria de Dax, plus souvent évoquée sous le nom de « Fêtes de Dax », est peut-être l’une des plus animées en France. Cette année, elle aura lieu du 11 au 15 août, dans les arènes et dans le centre de cette ville thermale des Landes où environ 700 000 personnes sont attendues ! Une multitude de spectacles et des défilés de bandas sont organisés partout dans la ville et les bars envahissent jusqu’aux trottoirs.

A Mont-de-Marsan, la feria est connue sous l’appellation « fêtes de la Madeleine », en l’honneur de Sainte Marie-Madeleine, patronne de la ville. Elles sont organisées cette année du 20 au 24 juillet. Au programme bien sûr, les spectaculaires corridas qui prennent place dans les arènes de la ville. Près de 400 000 personnes déambulent chaque été dans les rues de Mont-de-Marsan.

Si vous avez la chance de visiter le Sud de la France cette année, nous vous souhaitons une joyeuse fête des ferias et un bel été ! Profitez-en pour goûter aux spécialités du Pays Basque telles que la piperade, le poulet basquaise, le jambon de Bayonne, l’Ossau-Iraty, le piment d’Espelette et bien d’autres merveilles !


Adele Bouet pour l’Alliance Française de Melbourne


You may also like...

Meet-up & Masterclass

Meet-up & Masterclass

Thursday 21 June
Professional development event for Victorian French teachers to learn about music as a learning tool in French classrooms.

French for Travellers

French for Travellers

Going on a trip to France or a Francophone country? Get comfortable with essential French phrases with our 1-week crash courses for travellers! 

Grammar clinic: subjonctif

Grammar clinic: subjonctif

Wed 3 July | St Kilda
Level B1 | 10am to 4pm
Lunch included!

Grammar clinic: past tenses

Grammar clinic: past tenses

Wed 3 July | St Kilda
Level A2.1 - A2.3 | 10am to 4pm
Lunch included!

Phonetics clinic: practice pronunciation

Phonetics clinic: practice pronunciation

Thu 4 July | St Kilda
Level A2 - B2 | 10am to 4pm
Lunch included!

French Beauty Workshop with L'Occitane

French Beauty Workshop with L'Occitane

Thu 4 July | St Kilda
Level B1 - B2 | 10am to 4pm
Lunch included!

Grammar clinic: Object & relative pronouns

Grammar clinic: Object & relative pronouns

Thu 11 July | St Kilda
Level A2 | 10am to 4pm
Lunch included!

French Pâtisserie Workshop

French Pâtisserie Workshop

Fri 12 July | St Kilda
Level A1.3 - A2.2 | 10am to 4pm
Lunch included!

Vin & Fromage

Vin & Fromage

Each term on Tuesday, from 6.30pm to 8.00pm
(except School & Public Holidays)


Thanks for sharing! / Merci pour le partage!

Instagram

St Kilda branch:
51 Grey Street, ST KILDA
VICTORIA 3182 AUSTRALIA
Tel : 03 9525 3463
E-mail: info@afmelbourne.com.au

Monday - Friday: 9.00am to 7.00pm /☎ from 10am to 6pm
Saturday: 9.00am to 6.00pm/☎ from 10am to 5pm
Sunday & Public Holidays: CLOSED .


City branch:
Level 13, 55 Swanston St, Melbourne
VIC, Australia, 3000
Tel : 03 9525 3463
E-mail: info@afmelbourne.com.au

Monday-Thursday: 9.00am-1.00pm & 2.00pm-6.30pm
Friday: 9.00am-1.00pm & 2.00pm-6.00pm
Saturday: 9.00am-12.00pm & 1.00pm-6.00pm
Sunday & Public Holidays: CLOSED