Parlez-vous français ?


French version
The Alliance Française French Film Festival is back! This year it turns 28, and with 45 films being screened over 3 weeks in 6 cinemas around Melbourne it has proved itself as one of the best of the foreign film festivals that take over the Australian cultural capital.
 

Book your tickets here

However each year you’ve got the same problem: how to choose which films to see? 

Why not try and base your film selection around your level of French, as the festival provides a perfect opportunity to discover the diversity of the French language. At least you always have the subtitles to fall back on! Here are some tips to help you choose your film:


Beginners: Keeper

In this story about two young high school students who go through the experience of parenthood, you are able to discover the language of French ‘young people’ of today. The syntax is reduced to its simplest form and only when they can be bothered to conjugate the verb. It can’t get any simpler in terms of comprehension given that, these kids can repeat the same sentence 3 times in a row in order to get across their exact sentiments. What’s more, the absence of language through eye contact, body language, and silences can often say a lot more than language itself. You’ll just have to excuse the occasional mumbling which is so common among this generation.

Acclaimed by the critics as soon as it came out, the film is surprising in its ability to draw us into the story and allow us to believe that two minors are perfectly capable of parenting a child. That is, without taking into account the role of their parents, who are always there to ruin their plans…

Catch phrase to listen out for: 

« Qu’est-ce que t’en sais toi ? Qu’est-ce que t’en sais toi ?! J’m’en fous j’le garde ! J’m’en fous j’le garde »

Translation: “What would you know? What would you know?! I don’t care I’m keeping him! I don’t care I’m keeping him!”


Intermediate: A Woman’s Life (Une Vie)

An ideal film for students of the Alliance Française de Melbourne: an adaption of one of the great classics of French literature, the dialogue of A Woman’s Life (Une Vie) is constructed in the purest tradition of the French language which is easily accessible and pronounced with clarity and whose meaning is crystal clear. There aren’t (too) many expressions, verbal sayings, double meanings, spoonerisms or puns. What’s more the characters aren’t particularly chatty, which makes it even easier! A great way for you to realise how accessible the French language is and how far you have progressed! What’s more, if you want to know what life was like for a young female aristocrat in provincial France during the second half of the 19th century, this is the film for you! At least, you’ll see to what extent women’s lives have improved since this period…

Catchphrase to listen out for:

« En tout cas, moi, il me plaît ! Je le trouve trèèès… »

“Well anyway I fancy him! I find him veryyyy…


Advanced : It’s Only the End of the World (Juste la fin du monde)

A little more complicated this time. It’s Only the End of the World (Juste la fin du monde) is an adaption from a successful play, written in the 90s by one of the most emblematic playwrights of his generation: Jean-Luc Lagarce. The film, directed by Canadian wild child of cinema, Xavier Dolan stays true to the play with a mix of familiar, conversational language as well as theatrical dialogue whose meaning is often hidden under the surface and not necessarily what we believe it to mean. The narrative is without doubt autobiographical, as it tells the story of a successful playwright, who after more than 10 years of absence, comes back to his family for a day to announce his imminent death. Uniting the finest of French cinema across various generations, It’s Only the End of the World reveals the scope of talent of Gaspard Ulliel, Léa Seydoux, Marion Cotillard, Nathalie Baye and Vincent Cassel. It is a rare occasion to find these glamourous actors doing their dirty washing together as a family.

Catchphrase to listen out for : « Juste un déjeuner en famille. C’est pas la fin du monde ! »

Translation: “It’s just lunch with the family. Not the end of the world !


Music and lyrics

The French language possesses an endless number of accents. Sometimes they are difficult to pick up as a second language speaker. The French Film Festival is a perfect opportunity to listen to these different intonations, so long as you let yourself be taken away by the music of the words. If you are a novice, the easiest accents to identify are those of other foreigners speaking French. Here are some examples:

In Farewell, My Queen (Les Adieux à la Reine), one can still pick up the slightest touch of a German accent by the wonderful Diane Kruger, which works perfectly in this film where she plays the queen of France, Marie-Antoinette, who was born in Austria. Take the chance to contrast Léa Seydoux’s smooth, rounded manner of speaking with the dry, (nearly rude), guttural speech (with the letter R in particular) of the German actress.  

Catchphrase to listen out for : « Mais qu'avez-vous à vous gratter comme ça ? »
Translation: What's making itch so much?

 

We find this same way of speaking and these Germanic intonations coming out of the mouth of the Danish actress Sidse Babett Knudsen, star of the TV series Borgen, and heroine of Emmanuelle Bercot’s film 150 Milligrams. The film tells the story of a French doctor who is now famous because of her role in uncovering a scandal involving one of the barons of the French pharmaceutical industry. The irony is that the role of the doctor was offered to a non-French actress whose accent certainly does not hide her native Danish origins. It is in this way that we see the art of French cinema where foreign accents are not a matter of importance as long as the actor is good. On the other hand, in Hollywood, such a casting choice just would not happen. An actor with a slight foreign accent would never play the role of an American. What’s more, when a character is from another country, Hollywood producers prefer to call on an American actor who is supposedly good at doing the accent in question, in which case only the rightful owners of said accent can pick up the inaccuracy. What comes as a result is not dissimilar to seeing a film dubbed into another language: quite ridiculous. Have you tried watching Marlon Brando dubbed into French in a scene from The Godfather? Give it a go.

Of all the foreign accents, the Quebecois accent is without doubt one of the most extreme. French as it is spoken today in Quebec is said to be similar to the French language as it was spoken in the 17th century and that it was in France that the way of speaking evolved over time. Whether this is true or false, A Kid (Le Fils de Jean) offers a perfect example of this contrast. In this poignant story where a young Frenchman discovers that he is related to a Quebecois family and travels to Canada to meet them, you will quickly pick up the difference between the two cultures and understand what encompasses the term ‘Francophonie’.

Many other accents can be heard in the dialogues of the films that are on the bill for this year’s Alliance Française French Film Festival. Certain accents may only be detectable by those with a trained ear, but that’s a whole other story that you don’t need to worry about until you reach an academic level. If you’re not there yet, Nathalie Portman’s impeccable French in Planétarium is proof that practicing a foreign language, and more specifically the French language, is open to anyone!

Bon festival!

PS. If you would like to test your knowledge of Polish, go and see the fascinating film, The Innocents (Les Innocentes)!
 

Book your tickets here

By Michel Richard
Translated by Ilaria O'Brien

You may also like...

Jazzy Jeudi

Jazzy Jeudi

Thu 22 June
The New Impromptu Quartet: exploring a world of styles and influences from jazz to latin, funk, drum n bass and soul with a fresh and open musical approach.

Conversation: First Steps

Conversation: First Steps

Starts Mon 10 Jul 2017
1-week course | levels A2.1&A2.2
10am-12.30pm | in St Kilda

Revision & Conversation A2

Revision & Conversation A2

Starts Mon 10 Jul 2017
1-week course | levels A2.3-A2.6
10am-12.30pm | in St Kilda

Arts & culture B1

Arts & culture B1

Starts Mon 10 Jul 2017
1-week course | levels B1.3-B1.7
10am-12.30pm | in St Kilda

Winter Holiday French courses

Winter Holiday French courses

1-week French courses from Mon 10 July to Fri 14 July 2017.
In St Kilda or in the CBD. 

The French Revolution

The French Revolution

Starts Mon 10 Jul 2017
1-week course | level B2
6pm-8pm | in St Kilda

Grammar clinic: Le subjonctif

Grammar clinic: Le subjonctif

Thu 13 Jul 2017
Levels B1.3 - B1.6
In St Kilda | 10am to 4pm

Grammar clinic: Les past tenses

Grammar clinic: Les past tenses

Fri 14 Jul 2017
Levels A2.1-A2.3
In St Kilda | 10am to 4pm

Grammar clinic: Les pronoms relatifs

Grammar clinic: Les pronoms relatifs

Fri 14 Jul 2017
Levels B1.3 - B1.6
In St Kilda | 10am to 4pm

Bastille Day French Festival

Bastille Day French Festival

Meat Market - North Melbourne
Sat 15 & Sun 16 July 2017
10am - 5pm

Term 3 French courses

Term 3 French courses

10-week courses start 17 July
5-week courses start 22 July

Belmondo: French cinema icon

Belmondo: French cinema icon

Starts Thu 3 Aug 2017
5-week course | Level B2
6.15pm to 8.15pm | in St Kilda

The House of Dior

The House of Dior

Starts Thu 17 Aug 2017
5-week course | B1.3 to B1.7
10.30am or 6.15pm | in St Kilda

The Melbourne Salon - 24 August

The Melbourne Salon - 24 August

You are invited to the next Melbourne Salon: 
Flanders in Australia: A Personal History of Wool and War on Thursday 24 August

Affiches exhibition

Affiches exhibition

original first prints of key French graphic designers
05 Oct to 04 Nov 2017


Thanks for sharing! / Merci pour le partage!

Instagram

St Kilda branch:
51 Grey Street, ST KILDA
VICTORIA 3182 AUSTRALIA
Tel : 03 9525 3463
Fax : 03 9525 5064
E-mail: info@afmelbourne.com.au

Postal Address:
PO Box 2042,
ST KILDA WEST, VICTORIA 3182
AUSTRALIA

St Kilda branch opening hours:
Mon - Fri: 9am to 7pm (switchboard/reception: 9.30am to 6.30pm)
Sat: 9am to 6pm (switchboard/reception: 9am to 5.30pm)

How to find us:
Trams: 16, 96, Fitzroy Street
3, 5, 64, 67 St Kilda Junction (3, 64, 67 Alma Road)
Car park available
Wheelchair access

City branch:
Level 13, 55 Swanston St, MELBOURNE
VICTORIA 3000 AUSTRALIA
Tel : 03 9525 3463
Fax : 03 9525 5064
E-mail: info@afmelbourne.com.au

City branch opening hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am to 1pm & 2pm to 6.30pm
Fri - Sat: 9am to 12pm & 1pm to 6pm

How to find us:
Trams: 1, 3, 3a, 5, 6, 8, 11, 16, 42, 48, 64, 67, 72, 109
& 112 running down Swanston St (stop: Collins St/Swanston St)
Trains: Flinders St Station is 1 block away

Terms and conditions

Registered charity

Parlez-vous français ?


English version
L’Alliance française French Film Festival est de retour ! Il compte désormais 28 printemps, et avec 45 films projetés durant 3 semaines dans 6 cinémas tout autour de Melbourne, il fait office de premier de la classe dans cette jungle des festivals de films étrangers qui envahit toujours plus la capitale culturelle australienne.
 

Réservez vos tickets ici

Chaque année, c’est le même problème : comment choisir son/ses films ? 

Et si cette fois, vous tentiez d’envisager votre sélection à travers votre niveau en français ? En plus, le French Film Festival vous offre les surtitres pour béquilles.
Voici quelques conseils pour vous aider à y voir clair : 


Keeper : pour les faux débutants

Dans cette histoire plus vraie que nature, où deux jeunes lycéens vont faire l’expérience de la parentalité, on découvre le langage des jeunes d’aujourd’hui. La syntaxe est réduite à sa plus simple expression et c’est tout juste si l’on prend la peine de conjuguer les verbes. On ne peut faire plus simple en termes de compréhension sachant qu’en plus, ces jeunes peuvent répéter 3 fois la même phrase pour exprimer les nuances de leurs sentiments. D’ailleurs, les regards, le langage du corps et les silences en disent beaucoup plus long que le langage lui-même. Il faudra toutefois s’habituer un peu au phrasé râpeux, aux phonèmes fermés, si représentatifs de cette génération.

Salué par la critique lors de sa sortie en salles, le film étonne par sa justesse et nous embarque dans cette histoire où l’on se prendrait à croire qu’avoir un enfant est un projet que peuvent parfaitement assumer deux mineurs. C’est sans compter les parents, toujours là pour gâcher nos plans…

Phrase culte : qu’est-ce que t’en sais toi (répéter 2 fois) ?
J’m’en fous j’le garde (répéter 2 fois)


Une vie (A woman’s life) : Intermédiaire

Le film parfait pour les étudiants de l’Alliance française de Melbourne : adaptation d’un des grands classiques de la littérature française, les dialogues d’Une vie sont construits dans la plus pure tradition d’un français simple d’accès, prononcé avec fluidité et dont le sens est aussi clair que de l’eau de roche : Pas (trop) d’expressions, de locutions verbales, de double sens, de contrepèteries ou autres jeux de mots. Ce qui ne gâche rien, c’est qu’en plus le film n’est pas bavard. Idéal pour vous dire combien la langue française est accessible et comme vos progrès sont grands !

Et si en plus vous avez envie de connaître le genre de vie que pouvait mener une jeune aristocrate de province dans la France de la deuxième moitié du 19ème Siècle, vous serez comblés ! Enfin si l’on peut dire car on mesure toute l’étendue du chemin parcouru par les femmes depuis cette époque !

Phrase culte : En tout cas, moi, il me plaît ! Je le trouve trèèès…


Juste la fin du monde (Just the end of the world) : Avancé

Un peu plus compliqué cette fois. Juste la fin du monde est l’adaptation d’une pièce de théâtre à succès, écrite dans les années 90 par l’un des dramaturges les plus emblématiques de sa génération : Jean-Luc Lagarce. Très fidèle à la pièce, le film qu’en tire l’enfant terrible du cinéma canadien, Xavier Dolan, mêle langage parlé, de type conversation, et langage théâtral où, sous l’apparence d’une structure élémentaire, se cache souvent un sens plus profond que ce que l’on croit comprendre. L’histoire, sans doute autobiographique, est celle d’un auteur dramatique à succès qui, après plus de dix ans d’absence, revient dans sa famille le temps d’une journée pour annoncer sa mort prochaine. Réunissant la fine fleur du cinéma français, toutes générations confondues, Juste la fin du monde révèle toute l’étendue du talent de Gaspard Ulliel, Léa Seydoux, Marion Cotillard, Nathalie Baye et Vincent Cassel. Une occasion rare de les regarder laver leur linge sale en famille.

Phrase culte : Juste un déjeuner en famille. C’est pas la fin du monde !


Paroles et musique

La langue française possède une variété d’accents infinie. Difficile de le déceler toutefois lorsqu’on est étranger et que l’on maîtrise mal la structure de la langue. Le French Film Festival est une occasion rêvée d’entendre ses différentes intonations, à condition de se laisser porter par la musique des mots. Mais pour le néophyte, le plus facile est de commencer par l’accent étranger, facilement décelable. Quelques exemples :

Dans Les adieux à la Reine, l’excellente Diane Kruger peine à cacher cette petite pointe d’accent germanique, qui lui sied à merveille dans ce film où elle incarne la Reine de France Marie-Antoinette, de naissance autrichienne. Délectez-vous du contraste entre le parler suave, tout en arrondis de Léa Seydoux et le phrasé sec (presque rude), guttural (en particulier sur les R) de l’actrice allemande.

Phrase culte : Mais qu'avez-vous à vous gratter comme ça ?
 

On retrouve ce phrasé et ces intonations germaniques dans la bouche de l’actrice danoise Sidse Babett Knudsen, star de la série à succès Borgen, et héroïne du film d’Emmanuelle Bercot La fille de Brest (150 Milligrams). Le film raconte l’histoire d’un médecin français, aujourd’hui célèbre, à l’origine d’un scandale impliquant l’un des barons de l’industrie pharmaceutique française. Ironie du sort, le rôle a été confié à une actrice étrangère dont les intonations de type germanique sont très perceptibles. C’est là tout l’art du cinéma français où les accents étrangers ne sont pas un sujet d’importance, pourvu que l’acteur soit bon. A Hollywood, c’est tout le contraire : un acteur avec un léger accent étranger ne peut prétendre à endosser le rôle d’un personnage américain. De plus, lorsqu’un personnage est étranger, on préfère faire appel à un acteur anglophone, formé à pratiquer un ou plusieurs accents étrangers (ce dont il se vante dans son CV). Dans ce cas, seul un ‘native speaker’ peut relever l’imposture. L’effet produit est un peu comme celui d’un film doublé dans une langue étrangère : proche du ridicule. Avez-vous essayé Marlon Brando doublé en français dans une scène du Parrain ?

De tous les accents étrangers, l’accent québecois est sans doute l’un des plus exotiques. On dit du Québécois qu’il correspond plus ou moins au français, tel qu’il était parlé au 17ème Siècle et que c’est en France que la manière de le parler a évolué avec le temps. Vrai ou faux, Le fils de Jean (A kid) est le parfait exemple de la grande différence existant entre les deux traditions. Dans cette histoire poignante où un jeune français découvre ses liens de parenté avec une famille québécoise et entreprend un voyage au Canada pour la rencontrer, vous saisirez la différence entre les deux cultures et comprendrez peut-être toute l’ambiguïté du terme Francophonie.

Beaucoup d’autres accents s’expriment dans les nuances des dialogues des films à l’affiche de l’Alliance française French Film Festival. Certains ne sont perceptibles qu’à une oreille entraînée à les reconnaître. Mais il s’agit là d’une histoire beaucoup plus compliquée, réservée à un public de niveau académique. Pour tous les autres, il reste le parler impeccable de Nathalie Portman dans Planétarium pour prouver que la pratique d’une langue étrangère, et a fortiori du français, est à la portée de chacun. Allez, Bon Festival !

PS : et si vous souhaitez tester vos connaissances en polonais, courez voir Les innocentes (The innocents). Ce film a l’éclat d’un diamant noir !
 

Réservez vos tickets ici

By Michel Richard

You may also like...

Jazzy Jeudi

Jazzy Jeudi

Thu 22 June
The New Impromptu Quartet: exploring a world of styles and influences from jazz to latin, funk, drum n bass and soul with a fresh and open musical approach.

Conversation: First Steps

Conversation: First Steps

Starts Mon 10 Jul 2017
1-week course | levels A2.1&A2.2
10am-12.30pm | in St Kilda

Revision & Conversation A2

Revision & Conversation A2

Starts Mon 10 Jul 2017
1-week course | levels A2.3-A2.6
10am-12.30pm | in St Kilda

Arts & culture B1

Arts & culture B1

Starts Mon 10 Jul 2017
1-week course | levels B1.3-B1.7
10am-12.30pm | in St Kilda

Winter Holiday French courses

Winter Holiday French courses

1-week French courses from Mon 10 July to Fri 14 July 2017.
In St Kilda or in the CBD. 

The French Revolution

The French Revolution

Starts Mon 10 Jul 2017
1-week course | level B2
6pm-8pm | in St Kilda

Grammar clinic: Le subjonctif

Grammar clinic: Le subjonctif

Thu 13 Jul 2017
Levels B1.3 - B1.6
In St Kilda | 10am to 4pm

Grammar clinic: Les past tenses

Grammar clinic: Les past tenses

Fri 14 Jul 2017
Levels A2.1-A2.3
In St Kilda | 10am to 4pm

Grammar clinic: Les pronoms relatifs

Grammar clinic: Les pronoms relatifs

Fri 14 Jul 2017
Levels B1.3 - B1.6
In St Kilda | 10am to 4pm

Bastille Day French Festival

Bastille Day French Festival

Meat Market - North Melbourne
Sat 15 & Sun 16 July 2017
10am - 5pm

Term 3 French courses

Term 3 French courses

10-week courses start 17 July
5-week courses start 22 July

Belmondo: French cinema icon

Belmondo: French cinema icon

Starts Thu 3 Aug 2017
5-week course | Level B2
6.15pm to 8.15pm | in St Kilda

The House of Dior

The House of Dior

Starts Thu 17 Aug 2017
5-week course | B1.3 to B1.7
10.30am or 6.15pm | in St Kilda

The Melbourne Salon - 24 August

The Melbourne Salon - 24 August

You are invited to the next Melbourne Salon: 
Flanders in Australia: A Personal History of Wool and War on Thursday 24 August

Affiches exhibition

Affiches exhibition

original first prints of key French graphic designers
05 Oct to 04 Nov 2017


Thanks for sharing! / Merci pour le partage!

Instagram

St Kilda branch:
51 Grey Street, ST KILDA
VICTORIA 3182 AUSTRALIA
Tel : 03 9525 3463
Fax : 03 9525 5064
E-mail: info@afmelbourne.com.au

Postal Address:
PO Box 2042,
ST KILDA WEST, VICTORIA 3182
AUSTRALIA

St Kilda branch opening hours:
Mon - Fri: 9am to 7pm (switchboard/reception: 9.30am to 6.30pm)
Sat: 9am to 6pm (switchboard/reception: 9am to 5.30pm)

How to find us:
Trams: 16, 96, Fitzroy Street
3, 5, 64, 67 St Kilda Junction (3, 64, 67 Alma Road)
Car park available
Wheelchair access

City branch:
Level 13, 55 Swanston St, MELBOURNE
VICTORIA 3000 AUSTRALIA
Tel : 03 9525 3463
Fax : 03 9525 5064
E-mail: info@afmelbourne.com.au

City branch opening hours:
Mon - Thurs 9am to 1pm & 2pm to 6.30pm
Fri - Sat: 9am to 12pm & 1pm to 6pm

How to find us:
Trams: 1, 3, 3a, 5, 6, 8, 11, 16, 42, 48, 64, 67, 72, 109
& 112 running down Swanston St (stop: Collins St/Swanston St)
Trains: Flinders St Station is 1 block away

Terms and conditions

Registered charity